Categories: I found a bug! : Text Chat : iGoogle, Google+, or orkut :

Chat in iGoogle always shows "This chat is no longer off the record" every time I open a window

Showing 1-12 of 12 messages
Chat in iGoogle always shows "This chat is no longer off the record" every time I open a window S C 3/3/12 12:52 PM
Whenever I open the window, my chats from gmail,g+,android all pop up in iGoogle.  Whenever this happens, I always get the message "This chat is no longer off the record".  I don't have any of my other products set to chat off the record, so the message is annoying me because it is false.  Please either fix the bug or allow me to suppress the warning, I'm sick of seeing it every time I load the page.
Re: Chat in iGoogle always shows "This chat is no longer off the record" every time I open a window wár17 § 3/3/12 10:49 PM
Do you have Google Chat set up in a third party program like eBuddy?  It may be set off the record there.
Re: Chat in iGoogle always shows "This chat is no longer off the record" every time I open a window Secron 3/8/12 3:00 PM
I have the same problem. I don't use any third party program (all I use is iGoogle and Android clients), and it happens with all my contacts. I can cause the bug on demand just by refreshing the page with chats open.

I can't confirm, but it may be causing some chats to not be recorded.
Re: Chat in iGoogle always shows "This chat is no longer off the record" every time I open a window wár17 § 3/8/12 4:18 PM
Many users want the warning,  "This chat is no longer off the record"  Thus the reminder what you are typing is recorded.
Re: Chat in iGoogle always shows "This chat is no longer off the record" every time I open a window S C 3/8/12 4:25 PM
But for me (and others), the response is in error.  That makes it confusing and frustrating.
Re: Chat in iGoogle always shows "This chat is no longer off the record" every time I open a window Michael Benninger 3/28/12 7:54 PM
also having this problem across devices and google products. started about a month or so ago. 
Re: Chat in iGoogle always shows "This chat is no longer off the record" every time I open a window hassaanay 4/9/12 11:20 PM
Same here too. When I click on a contact's name in iGoogle chat, it doesn't show the message first time. However, if I close the chat popup window and open it again (the second time), it shows the message 'This chat is no longer off the record'. The message doesn't go to my friends though. It just shows to me. And only in iGoogle, never on Gmail chat.
Re: Chat in iGoogle always shows "This chat is no longer off the record" every time I open a window appel 4/13/12 7:56 AM
This happens to me when I chat with someone in Google+. The warning "This chat is no longer off the record" is always shown after the first response from the other person I'm chatting with. This is even if I'm chatting with someone I've never chatted off the record with at all. It doesn't happen if I chat on gmail.com
Re: Chat in iGoogle always shows "This chat is no longer off the record" every time I open a window CSC 4/20/12 11:50 PM
Same with me and it's getting very annoying! Only shows in G+ chats or Google Talk app chats. Never while in Gmail. And I don't use any third party chat apps at all.
Re: Chat in iGoogle always shows "This chat is no longer off the record" every time I open a window lixiaoxu 6/20/12 12:01 AM
Re: Chat in iGoogle always shows "This chat is no longer off the record" every time I open a window ashvinmoge 8/5/12 10:44 PM

Re: Chat in iGoogle always shows "This chat is no longer off the record" every time I open a window CyBerend 8/16/12 2:27 AM
I agree that for most people this will look like an error. When you intend it to be a warning it's even formulated wrong. It should be: "This chat is recorded" or something like that.
The point is that it's a silly reminder to keep persistent. In my experience, it only triggers (that's how it was for me anyway, but maybe that was just me doing this when Google introduced this 'feature') when you decide to go 'off the record', and then back on. This is what I did, anyway, and then the message appeared when I reactivated.
So I wasn't surprised when the message first appeared, but it subsequently never went away again and started to become annoying and started to morph from a feature into a bug in my experience.

Are you seriously saying that we should be plastering messages about all the data collection that is happening in the background on our screens all the time? All the cookies that are being set, all the logging that is being done? Can't we just all assume that your every move is tracked, privacy is a thing of the past and move into the 21st century?