Categories: Need advice? :

Scam or not??

Showing 1-24 of 24 messages
Scam or not?? Jody Freeman 2/2/14 3:31 PM
I received this email today and just want to know if it is legit. I thought it might be a scam.


Due to changes in Google Maps, we’d like to inform you that unless you review and confirm the information in your Google Places account, we will no longer be able to keep and show it to Google users after February 21, 2014.

As a result, on this date your listing "Pet Friends" may be deleted.

If you wish to keep your listing active, follow these three easy steps:

1.        Log in to your Google Places account
2.        Review and update your information
3.        Click the “Submit” button

The Google Places Team
Re: Scam or not?? Linda Buquet ~ 2/2/14 4:02 PM
Hi Jody, 

Thanks for reporting. I just saw this reported elsewhere from a consultant who said all his clients got it this week.

As soon as I saw the copy of the email I thought it was a phishing email or scam. I see several things that make me suspicious.

PLUS Google would normally tell the TC's in advance if there was something like this, so we could be aware and know what to say when reports start coming into the forum. But they have not mentioned it.

On the other report I saw there was a link to Log into your Places account. Can you copy and paste the address that link goes to so I can see it. (Don't click it just copy.)

Also please give us the exact email it came from. 
Re: Scam or not?? Kate Watt 2/2/14 4:25 PM
Hi Jody and Linda -

We to have received this from saying exactly the same thing.

the link directs to:

Please let me know what you think
*This message may contain legally privileged, confidential and/or
copyrighted information. If you are not the intended recipient of this
message, please immediately notify the sender and delete the email and any
attachments, and any copies without dissemination or use. Receipt by an
unintended recipient does not waive legal professional privilege. Any views
expressed in this message are those of the individual  sender, except where
the sender specifically, and with authority, states them to be the views of
Mortgage Choice Limited or a related company. No representation, warranty
or guarantee is made that this email or any attachment is free from
viruses, errors, interference or other defect. This notice should not be
deleted or altered.*
Re: Scam or not?? Linda Buquet ~ 2/2/14 4:26 PM
Jody it appears this is real. I got the link and email address from the other person and it's Google.

Plus he says there are red banners at the top of the page right inside the account warning you need to update the listing too.

Based on the poor or odd wording I did not think this was real. " we will no longer be able to keep and show it to Google users". And why Feb 21st? Why not end of month?

Plus what the heck does #2 mean. If your listing is correct what are you supposed to review and update in order to not be deleted???

Edit/submit was a way of 'poking' the old listing. But in the new dash there is not even a "submit". You can edit and save but not submit.

Does the red warning on at top of your account provide any info about what you are supposed to do? Or link to additional info?

I'll escalate this to Google and get some answers about what's up.
Re: Scam or not?? Linda Buquet ~ 2/2/14 4:30 PM
Thanks Kate, more reports are coming in too. Escalating to Google now.

Watch this thread for updates tomorrow.
Re: Scam or not?? Linda Buquet ~ 2/2/14 5:04 PM
Are both your listings in Australia? I'm in US and my listings don't have the warning and I didn't get an email.

I just briefly talked to Google management and got confirmation that these emails are legit. 

There is nothing to worry about and there is nothing wrong with your listing. You can just follow the instructions in the email and that will confirm to Google your listing is accurate and active. There could be more info tomorrow forthcoming, but for now don't worry.
Re: Scam or not?? Nyagoslav 2/2/14 7:03 PM
I think it is possible the emails have been sent out only for Australians for now, at (or after) 9AM local time on Monday. It is very possible they will be gradually sent out to the rest of the world when the morning comes. Let's wait and see if Europeans are going to start reporting :)
Re: Scam or not?? Lou Armstrong 2/2/14 7:32 PM
your Google Places account

Google Places <>

Re: Scam or not?? Linda Buquet ~ 2/2/14 10:54 PM
Yes it appears this is only going out to Australian listings based on everything I've seen.
Re: Scam or not?? Tony McCreath 2/3/14 4:44 AM
I'm the constant from elsewhere,

I first saw the places warnings and posted about it on the 29th. My post includes an image of the warning:

It was also the first time I saw the new places interface in Australia.

I then received the email on Sunday. It was sent at 02 Feb 2014 15:11:16 -0800 (PST)

One other Australian has confirmed to me of seeing the warning message.
Re: Scam or not?? Jade W 2/5/14 8:34 AM

We are making some changes to Google Places for Business and Google Maps so we can continue providing people with the best experience when they’re looking for local businesses. As part of this process, we’re asking business owners to review and confirm some of the information in their Google Places accounts so we can keep showing it to Google users. We know this will be a few extra steps for merchants, and we apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for your time.

We have sent business owners affected by these changes an email entitled “Action Required: You have 3 weeks to save your Google Places Listing”.

If you did receive this email, don’t worry. Please log into Places for Business, take a look at your business information, update it if necessary, and click “Submit.” You’ll need to do this for all listings in your account by February 21, 2014, so they can stay on Google Maps. Otherwise, you’ll need to add your business information and undergo PIN verification using Google Places again.

If you have any trouble going through the above steps or need assistance updating your business information, please send us an email, and we’ll gladly assist you.

Thanks again for your time.

Jade Wang, Google Business Community Manager

Re: Scam or not?? Carl Bischoff 2/6/14 12:25 PM
Yes we have been seeing these for Australian accounts and getting quite a few calls about it as well.
Re: Scam or not?? CptnJack 2/7/14 7:10 AM
Thanks Jade.  Do you have any clarification as to which businesses are affected by this?
Re: Scam or not?? Jody Freeman 2/8/14 11:45 PM
Thanks for your help guys. We are an Australian pet sitting business, so we don't have a business address as such, but we service a set area of suburbs. Maybe that's why we were flagged?
Re: Scam or not?? Danielle O 2/11/14 7:45 AM
Does anyone know why certain listings are being affected and why others aren't? For example, if an owner hasn't logged into their account in 6 months? Why is Google requiring these particular listings to log in, confirm their info and submit?
Re: Scam or not?? Danielle O 2/11/14 7:46 AM
Re: Scam or not?? Tony McCreath 2/11/14 7:08 PM
All my clients places listings have had to do this. All Australian and most are physical shops. I think this is currently rolling out to all Australian businesses and later may spread. We are the guinea pigs for this one.

Just check your listing, submit, and your set.
Re: Scam or not?? treebles 2/11/14 7:19 PM
Nobody but the Google employees knows the reason for this requirement and they are not talking.
Re: Scam or not?? Mary Silva504 2/15/14 8:36 AM
As some may have said already, this is something that is only currently affecting Australian businesses. Called The Google Places Team to confirm this. Find out more on my blog post about the call here:
Re: Scam or not?? Jeremie Baker 2/26/14 6:24 PM
how can I get google to call my phone and give me a pin to activate my listing account
Re: Scam or not?? Linda Buquet ~ 2/27/14 11:36 AM
Jeremie, this thread is about another topic, please start a new thread and answer the questions it will ask you and we'll help you there.

@Mary said: "As some may have said already, this is something that is only currently affecting Australian businesses."

Sorry forgot to post here, it's also now affecting Canada listings too. News broke about it at my forum about a week ago and Google has confirmed it.

So if you have listings in Canada, log in and check. If you have the red warning just check to be sure your data is accurate and hit submit.


Re: Scam or not?? Salvos Australia 3/5/14 10:23 PM

We didn't receive the email because the email address that was linked to the account no longer exists so what do we do in this instance?

We are located in Australia and now no matter how I try to get to Google Places, when I attempt to sign in I keep getting the error 'System Error
We're sorry, but we are unable to serve your request at this time. Please try back in a few minutes'.



Re: Scam or not?? Carl Bischoff 3/6/14 2:59 AM
Hi Mel
Contact support by email or call them i would suggest.
From this page there is a contact us link in top right;
Re: Scam or not?? Mymobilmoney 3/21/14 12:03 PM
More topics »