Google Groups

Re: google plus and instant upload is driving me nuts.


Digital Jedi Jun 23, 2012 5:27 PM
Posted in group: Google+ Discuss

Categories: Mobile device feedback :

Well, first off all, you DO NOT grant Google any permission to use your pictures for their own purposes by adding them to the cloud. This Term of Service has been explained, and explained and explained ad nauseum, but I'll repeat it here. That part of the TOS means you grant Google the rights to use the image on their website where it would ordinarily show up on your profile and profile related happenings. Nothing more, nothing less. See this image:  http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=3727936194986

Second of all, you never had to disable sync. All you had to do was turn off Instant Upload in the Google+ app's settings. (And if Google+ is using WiFi to upload photos, that's something else controllable in the app's settings.)

As far as what's enabled on the Galaxy Tab 2, I have no idea, since I don't have one. I was never talking about the Galaxy Tab 2, and I'm not even sure it was out yet when I answered the question. The user above downloaded the app, and that DOES ask you when you install if you want to enable Instant Upload. Is Google+ pre-insalled on the Galaxy Tab 2? I can't find any info on the web whether it is or not. If it was, and IU was on by default, then you should take issue with Samsung for turning it on without asking, if that is even actually the case. That kind of hyperbole doesn't really make your case for you.