Google Product Forums

Re: Scam or not??


Jade W Feb 5, 2014 8:34 AM
Posted in group: Google and Your Business

Categories: Need advice? :

We are making some changes to Google Places for Business and Google Maps so we can continue providing people with the best experience when they’re looking for local businesses. As part of this process, we’re asking business owners to review and confirm some of the information in their Google Places accounts so we can keep showing it to Google users. We know this will be a few extra steps for merchants, and we apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for your time.


We have sent business owners affected by these changes an email entitled “Action Required: You have 3 weeks to save your Google Places Listing”.

If you did receive this email, don’t worry. Please log into Places for Business, take a look at your business information, update it if necessary, and click “Submit.” You’ll need to do this for all listings in your account by February 21, 2014, so they can stay on Google Maps. Otherwise, you’ll need to add your business information and undergo PIN verification using Google Places again.


If you have any trouble going through the above steps or need assistance updating your business information, please send us an email, and we’ll gladly assist you.


Thanks again for your time.


Jade Wang, Google Business Community Manager