Categories: Issues and Troubleshooting :

Important note for Android Jelly Bean users using Latitude

Showing 1-8 of 8 messages
Important note for Android Jelly Bean users using Latitude Daniel (Google Community Manager) 7/17/12 9:55 AM
Important note for Android Jelly Bean users using Latitude: If you’d like to continue sharing with your friends on Latitude you will need to open Location settings in Google Maps for Mobile (GMM) 6.9.2 and turn on Enable location sharing (even if you were already sharing before the upgrade.) If you forget to do this, you’ll see a reminder the next time you open your friends list.
Using multiple devices: Also note that if you have Maps on multiple mobile devices, you will need to enable location sharing on the device with the most recent version, GMM 6.9.2. For example, if you have an Android phone running GMM 6.9.0 and a Nexus 7 tablet running GMM 6.9.2, you will need to enable location sharing on the tablet to continue sharing with your friends from your phone. Once you have enabled sharing on the most recent version, you can select whether you want to report that device's location you wish to report in Location settings > Report from this device.
Get the latest version of GMM from Google Play.
Thank you, 
The Google Latitude Team

Re: Important note for Android Jelly Bean users using Latitude Dimzy 7/27/12 6:55 AM
I don't see that option in my Latitude settings - it seems I can see my friends and their locations from the desktop site, but the Maps app on my phone still claims I don't have any Latitude friends.  I've tried disabling and re-enabling all location services and signing out and back in to Latitude.  Am I missing something?
Re: Important note for Android Jelly Bean users using Latitude GatorAJB 7/28/12 6:29 PM
 So, what exactly does the option "Location Reporting" do if it is set to "Your location is updated automatically", but "Report from this device" is NOT checked?

It would seem to me that having location reporting set to automatic updating would do absolutely nothing if the "report from device" box is not ticked. Is that true? If so, why even have two options that do the exact same thing? If you set automatic location reporting, wouldn't it be assumed that you want to report from that device? (Otherwise, couldn't you simply choose to "hide" or "manually updated" your location if you did not to report from the device.)

What the "Location Reporting" and "Report from this device" options do independently of each other is a little confusing. Can you provide any clarification, Daniel?
Re: Important note for Android Jelly Bean users using Latitude VesNL 7/29/12 6:02 AM
The way I'm reading it "Report from this device" will send the travel data from the device that allows this. For example you have a Nexus 7 and an Galaxy Nexus but only use one for reporting your location while the other is to see the location of your friends. 


Re: Important note for Android Jelly Bean users using Latitude anthony.chan 7/31/12 8:56 AM
I see exactly what you see as well- on both my Jelly bean devices- (Xoom and Galaxy Nexus)
Re: Important note for Android Jelly Bean users using Latitude robd007 9/5/12 3:02 PM
slightly unrelated question: how does one go about disabling latitude in jelly bean to achieve better battery life? u used to be able to log yourself out within the settings menu...how does one do it now?
Re: Important note for Android Jelly Bean users using Latitude VesNL 9/7/12 10:56 PM
I had not even noticed the log out option was gone.

Best way is to reduce settings.

Untick:
  • Report from this device
  • Enable location sharing
  • Automatic check-ins
  • Check-in notifications
In Location reporting (first option), choose "Do not update your location".


Re: Important note for Android Jelly Bean users using Latitude kjulio 9/8/12 3:13 AM
This won't help.
Please see my post here:
https://groups.google.com/a/googleproductforums.com/d/msg/maps/-/w7Drh0nrweIJ