Categories: Announcements :

Upgrades coming to bulk location management

Showing 1-1 of 1 messages
Upgrades coming to bulk location management Jade W 4/7/14 10:18 AM

Last edited May 13


We are rolling out new features for the bulk location management tool in the coming weeks to make your experience even better.  We're upgrading accounts gradually, and once your account is upgraded, these features will be available. Please be patient if you don’t see these features right away.


Please see the attached screenshot for an example of what your will look like if you've got the new features.

The current set of new features include:

Status of your locations on Maps: Now, we’ll show you a column that describes the status of each location on Maps. You’ll be able to tell at a glance which locations are live, unverified, have errors or data conflicts, are duplicates, or are pending review.


Updated data conflicts interface: The updated interface will show you details on how a location page might differ on Maps/Search results versus what’s in your dashboard. We’ll show you what is live on Google, and which field is different from what’s in your dashboard. From there, you’ll be able to take action.


Improved edit timeframe: We’re working on improving the speed with which your data goes live on Google.


Learn more about changes to bulk management.



Update, May 13:

More features will be available starting today for upgraded users of the bulk location management tool:


Google+ pages

We’ve heard your feedback! Each location in upgraded and verified accounts will have social features automatically enabled. To use social features on a particular location, like making a post, please hover over Live in the status column and click on the Google+ icon.


Adding and removing managers

Each location and its corresponding plus page can now only have one verified owner. This ensures that multiple verified users for the same location are not automatically overwriting each other's business information.The owner will be able to give manager access to other accounts, if they want to share responsibilities of updating data or posting social content.  They can add or remove managers for a particular location by selecting that location and then clicking on Add managers.


If you no longer want to be a manager of a location and you are the owner, you can transfer ownership to another user.  You can hover over the location, click on the manager icon to see the current managers and initiate a transfer.


If you no longer want to be a manager of a location and you are not the owner, you can stop managing by removing the location from your account. Do so by selecting the location, clicking on the trash icon and then stop managing.


If you see a location in your account that has Owner conflict, it means that another user account is verified for this business location in Google Places. You can request to be a manager of the location by selecting that location and then clicking on Request management. If the verified owner of the page adds your account as a manager, you will see a new entry in your dashboard that will show with a status of Live. You can then remove the duplicate location from your dashboard.



Removing a location from your account

If you are the owner of a Google+ page, you may see an additional step when you are removing the location from your account. Click the Remove link next to the location and follow the steps to confirm deletion.


Please note, removing a location from your account will not necessarily remove it from Google Maps. If you’d like to mark a location as closed, please let us know.


Please remember, these features are only available for upgraded accounts. We’re working on upgrading more accounts as quickly as we can.