|When is data from the "Backup and Restore" feature on Android actually backed up?||Shawn Drape||7/27/12 8:17 PM|
I recently got a couple of new Android devices in rapid succession, and when I set up the first all my wifi settings and bookmarks were restored just fine. However, the second one, regardless of the number of times I attempt a factory reset, is not getting the settings pushed down. I'm now concerned that that I've wiped my backups from un-selecting and re-selecting the backup option (which states when you un-select that you wipe all the data being stored).
So now I'm trying to restore my data from the devices which still have it, but I don't know when the data gets backed up. Does it get backed up when you select the option, or as you put in the data?
|Re: When is data from the "Backup and Restore" feature on Android actually backed up?||Spooky Tunes||7/27/12 10:21 PM|
If you go to https://www.google.com/dashboard/ and scroll down to Android devices you will see "More data stored about this device" for each device. Data from one mobile device will not be restored to a different device.
|Re: When is data from the "Backup and Restore" feature on Android actually backed up?||VesNL||7/28/12 1:36 AM|
From my personal experience there is definitely no way to find out when it backs up and how often. When you set up your Google account on your phone after a reset it should pull the back up from the server.
And you're half wrong James Brost, it does restore data from one mobile device to another. I did it with my Galaxy S2 and Galaxy Nexus. What it takes is the settings of Google applications and third party application that use the back up API. If third party developers don't use this the info doesn't get transferred but the apps do (clean).
However data that is actually on your phone (ringtones, alarms, pictures, music, movies) won't be transferred over.
|Spooky Tunes||7/28/12 8:04 AM||<This message has been deleted.>|