I can see the reason for this: If you tag someone, then that person needs to be able to review the tag. Especially true if that album is shared with someone else. I can simultaneously see your desire to tag people in your album.
I recommend a best-of-both-worlds approach which goes a little bit something like this:
There are two kinds of tags: Private and Public tags.
Private tags are ONLY visible to the creator of the tags, even if the picture is shared, nobody but the creator can see a private tag period. This can be set without any sharing of the picture to the target of the tag. This also solves the OP's problem.
Public tags are visible to anyone the picture is shared with. It is also a sharing medium, in other words if the person who is tagged denies the tag, they lose sharing to that photo. Re-sharing with shared photos (through tags) should be treated the same way as re-posting with regular posts.
NOW NOTE: Thinking that someone cannot re-post a photo is wrong. If a person sees a photo, they can copy paste it and upload again. If you share it, know who you are sharing it with, if its a picture of you having sex with a prostitute on your passed out wife, and you want that private, well don't share it because someone can copy-paste it or use web developer tools, or plow through browser cache, they can get to that photo and post it publicly. This is true of anything online period. Some sites try to disable copy paste, but that can only go so far.